Glassy seas with mist enshrouded islands as we head out early back to Lefkada before catching our flight to Athens. Saw a turtle pop it head out before diving out of sight and were followed for a while by a school of dolphins. It is hot when we arrive there and I am overwhelmed by being in a city again after months at sea. The smell of gasoline fumes gives me a headache and hurts my throat. It is hot, really hot, and we are sweating.

We go for a walk through the plaka to the Acropolis from our hotel, but as I am very red faced, am too hot to actually go in, so after getting something to eat and a lot of water to hydrate again, slowly meander our way back to the hotel. I don’t venture out again and have room service for dinner. It was too much of a shock to my system to be in so much noise, cars everywhere, people everywhere – I retreated to a safe haven. John went out on his own and explored the city.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
View of the Acropolis
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Walking through the plaka
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
John’s new haircut that he surpised me with
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
View from the top of the hill
