I have done a couple of hikes through the forests to Jackle’s Lagoon and other lagoons and the diversity of the vegetation and wildlife keeps it interesting and engaging, so time goes by fast. On my last hike, climbed to the top of Mt. Finlayson which sounds more impressive than it is, as it is not a very tall mountain. However, the views from the summit are impressive and you are almost at the same level as the tops of some trees as you hike back to the parking lot. I got lucky and spotted my first bald eagle that was resting on a perch at the top of the tree. My heart beat faster when I spotted the eagle and took a few photos. Then I just watched this majestic creature until it took flight in search of prey.

We ended the day with champagne at sunset at Lime Kiln State Park. It was the first day where we had sunshine from dawn to dusk.

Bald Eagle
American Bald Eagle perched at the top of a tree. That predator eye.

sj2 202

sj2 203
Bufflehead
sj2 204
Blue skies all day
sj2 208
View from mountain top

sj2 209sj2 301

sj2 304
Sunset at Lime Kiln State Park

 

