May 25th
Went for a long walk in the morning up and down those stairways to the old town and clocked at least 5 or 6 miles, then a long afternoon paddle along the coast, a snorkel around the church on the rock, and then paddled back to the Marina. We navigated those stairs again to go for dinner in the evening, and by the time I got home, was exhausted and fell into a deep sleep.

It was lovely being back on the paddle board again, and it even rained as I was paddling. I spent my time singing some silly songs. Luckily, no-one was close enough to hear me. The water was such a beautiful color. John eventually caught up with me. He was having difficulty paddling due to his shoulder surgery. From the paddle board, we had access to caves and secret beaches. We parked the paddle boards in a cave on its small beach, and then snorkeled around the reefs and rocks of the huge rock that the church is built on. There were so many fish, it was lovely, and the water was much clearer than snorkeling at the reefs next to the Marina. I saw four long barracuda like looking fish swim away as I turned a corner. They were each about two feet long. Saw fish in various shapes and sizes. Many small parrot fish as well.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Tropea as seen from a paddle board
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Cave under the church
tr 406tr 407
tr 409
European jacksdaw
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Paddling back into the marina
tr 412
tr 417
Walking home from dinner
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

