June 9th
Wake up to another very still and hot day. We take the dinghy around the coast to a black beach and offload the dinghy. John heads out to practice his spearfishing skills and I find a spot in the shade of a cave on the black beach to read my book. So peaceful, right? Not so.

After a short while, feel something on my foot, and look down and a cute little green lizard is crossing over my foot. He scurries into a crevice in the rock near me and I keep seeing him make an appearance every few minutes checking me out. I am guessing that I am invading his home.

Time goes by and I am now reading on my stomach after taking a nice long swim. Great book, by the way. Totally absorbed. Not too worried about John as the water is very calm today. I feel something on my leg and think, “Aahhh, how sweet, the lizard has come to visit me again…”. I turn around to look, and jump about a foot into the air and scream. The black snake that was on my leg jumps as well and almost flies across the black sand beach to a rock on the other side of the beach. It seems to leap across the black sand. It is skinny and long and has a small head – about three to four feet long. Man, can that thing move. It disappears before I can grab my camera.

Well, I think we scared the hell out of each other. My heart did not stop racing for about thirty minutes. I found John’s phone and Googled snakes in Italy. Most likely, it was a grass or whip snake. Totally harmless, thank goodness. There are some venomous snakes here, but they are all shorter and vipers.

Either way, I moved all my belongings as close as I could to the water’s edge and waited patiently for John to get back. I am scared of snakes, and don’t care if they are harmless. My worst nightmare came true turning round and seeing one slither over my legs! Not visiting that cave again.

mt 600
My friendly lizard
mt 601mt 602mt 605mt 606mt 607mt 608mt 609

